Composites Central


Reply
Old 09-02-2009, 08:26 AM   #1
Justo

New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts



Default Autoclave Cost??

Hi

Can anyone give an idea of the cost of an autoclave for composites manufacture. Size would probably be around 2m diameter by 5m long?
Justo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 08:54 AM   #2
TET

Consultant
Composites Expert
 
TET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts



Default

A used one may be from $30k to $100k depending on the control system.
TET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:11 PM   #3
Justo

New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts



Default

Thanks for that. Is there a market out there?
Justo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 06:55 PM   #4
capt.ken

Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post



Default

A more important question might be, "How much does it cost to RUN a autoclave cure cycle?"
The last company I was involved with had 2 claves and no idea what it cost to run them. needless to say, the company has since folded

It is definately a real consideration to think about before getting one
capt.ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 02:28 AM   #5
TET

Consultant
Composites Expert
 
TET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts



Default

I've posted pics of the autoclave area before, and let's just say to run 7 of them through one night is more than the total cost to run most shops for a month.
But one must realize that autoclaves are generally only used to produce composite products of the highest quality and the manufacturing costs are factored in.
TET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 05:34 AM   #6
riff42

Composites Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Uni. of Delaware.
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 5
Thanked 105 Times in 88 Posts



Default

Is there a market out there for autoclaves, or autoclaved parts? Both yes. I don't know any european companies, but in the US, there is TEC and ASC Process Systems.

As for clave'ed parts...of course! All depends on what you want to and can make. Aircraft and military parts are normally claved, along with high performance car parts. Though, there are TONS of research going into out-of-autoclave manufacturing, due to the costs.......

I think our small (24"dia x ~40" long) clave runs 1000-3000$ a run, depending on time. Some thermoplastic parts only need a 500deg 30min cure, while some prepreg takes 6hr to cure. Remember, you are also pumping N2 into the clave due to the nature of air corroding metals at high temps and pressures.
__________________
---
I want my last words to be:
"Hey, this is fun!"
riff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 07:46 PM   #7
Fastrr

Composites Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 2,203
Thanks: 9
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TET View Post
I've posted pics of the autoclave area before, and let's just say to run 7 of them through one night is more than the total cost to run most shops for a month.
But one must realize that autoclaves are generally only used to produce composite products of the highest quality and the manufacturing costs are factored in.
Holy cow.. I didn't realize it cost so much to run one. Guess I won't be planning to buy one hehe.
How much $ in nitrogen is pumped into such an autoclave? I'm sure the electricity bill is killer too.
Fastrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 05:26 AM   #8
riff42

Composites Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Uni. of Delaware.
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 5
Thanked 105 Times in 88 Posts



Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastrr View Post
Holy cow.. I didn't realize it cost so much to run one. Guess I won't be planning to buy one hehe.
How much $ in nitrogen is pumped into such an autoclave? I'm sure the electricity bill is killer too.
not sure. We have a LN2 tank about 6ft tall by 3-4ft dia outside to supply N2/pressure. That lasts about 4-5 avg runs. I'll see if I can get actual $'s from the maintainers.
__________________
---
I want my last words to be:
"Hey, this is fun!"
riff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 04:04 PM   #9
Justo

New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts



Default

Thanks for the info -
Justo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 12:12 AM   #10
vermachina

Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: China
Posts: 13
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts



Send a message via Skype™ to vermachina
Default Composite Autoclave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justo View Post
Hi

Can anyone give an idea of the cost of an autoclave for composites manufacture. Size would probably be around 2m diameter by 5m long?
Dear Sir,
We are the manufacturer of Composite Autoclave I hope to get your valuable feedback details are given below you can email me:

Rakesh Verma (Overseas manager)
rakesh@olymspan.com
+8613861177443
www.olymspan.com
www.aacautoclave.wordpress.com
www.compositeautoclave.wordpress.com
vermachina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
autoclave, cost

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Inactive Reminders By Icora Web Design